PNC National Delegates Congress postponed

The Peoples National Convention (PNC) National Delegates Congress to elect a Flag bearer for Elections 2012 and other national officers slated for November 25th to 27th has been postponed.

The postponement was necessitated by failure of the party to organise all constituency and regional conferences to elect officers, which were mandatory for a national congress.

The National Executive Committee of the party would therefore meet in Accra on November 22nd to deliberate on the current development and mop-up strategies to fast track the process in the other five regions to pave way for the national delegate’s congress, Mr Anbataayela Bernard Monnah, PNC General Secretary told the Ghana News Agency in an interview on Monday.

The PNC Congress is expected to review the party’s constitution, to strengthen it to deal with the exigencies of current political trends, and also to consider whether or not the presidential candidate of the party should continue to be its leader at every point in time.

Other issues on the table of the Congress committee are whether or not to make the youth wing autonomous and also change the General Secretary’s position as the electoral returning officer of the party at every congress.

So far, two people are contesting the flag bearer position of the party.

Meanwhile the party has officially endorsed two contestants for the flag bearership slot – Mr Hassan Abdulai Ayariga is challenging Dr Edward N. Mahama four time Presidential candidate of the party.

For the chairmanship slot, four aspirants are contesting against the current Chairman Alhaji Ahmed Ramadan – They are Mr David Nibi, Dr Somtim Tobiga, Dr Edward Gyader, and Mr Thomas Akumyoung.

Mr Monnah is facing stiff challenge from Mr Henry H. Asante, and Mr Atik Mohammed for the General Secretary position, whilst David Apasera and Peter Teye Batsa are contesting for the National Treasurer positions

For the position of the National Organiser, Mr Omar Ahmed Bekure, Mr Emmanuel Wilson Jnr., and Mr Abubakari Sadiq Ebla are contesting.

The National Women’s Organiser position is being contested for by Elizabeth Amedekanyu and Janet Nabila, and National Youth Organiser by Abubakar Ramadan, Colson Akanbasiamand and Abass Nuhu.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.