Re-dedicate yourself to the Phobian spirit – Hearts of Oak’s Board Chairman

Emmanuel M. Commodore-Mensah, Chairman of Board of Directors of Accra Hearts of Oak SC has called on the supporters to re-dedicate themselves to the cause of the Club after its 100 years of existence.

The  Chairman said the successes of the Club over the years have been possible as a result of the commitment and dedication demonstrated by the Founders, management members, players and officials.

Speaking at a Dinner Dance to mark the 100th Anniversary Celebrations of the Club at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra, on Saturday, Commodore-Mensah said the Phobian spirit is an ‘indomitable one’ which has seen the Club grow from strength to strength and there is therefore the need for the present generation to emulate that spirit to ensure the Club wins more laurels in future.

Hearts marked their 100th anniversary celebration last Friday and used the occasion to confer honours on individuals and corporate organizations, who have in the past contributed to the success of the Club.

The individuals were presented with medals as a sign of appreciation and recognition for their contribution to the success of the Club.

Among the recipients were President John Evans Atta Mills, a former Chairman and Director of the Club for his distinguished services to the Club, the late Christopher Brandford Nettey (also known as Asafoatse Nettey) as the other recipient of the Leadership Awards alongside President Mills.

Also honoured on the night were the late General Joseph Arthur Ankrah, Oyeeman Wereko Ampem II, Harry Romulus Sawyerr, John Saka Addo, Daniel Sackey Quarcoome and George Adjei Osekere.

The awardees also includes the late James Kwaku Moffat, Henry Plange Nyemitei, the late Seth Tetteh Nettey, Ato Ahwoi, Ernest Adote Thompson and Togbe Afede XIV, with the Management members made up of the late Tommy Thompson, the late William Frank Ekundayor Sawyer, Dr Nyaho Nyaho-Tamakloe, Harry Zakkour and Nii Ayi Bonte (Gbese Mantse).

Coach “Sir” Cecil Jones Attququayefio leads the pack for the Technical awardees which also includes Stephen Akwetey, the late Emmanuel Ofei Ansah, Alhaji Braimah Sulemana (Alhaji Hearts), Robert Amoo Dodoo and Akwei Addo with Lawrence Amaaku Adjaidoo, the late Joe Aplerh Lartey, Ashford Tettey Oku, the late Clement Kwashie Doku, Lawrence Adu Darko, Nana Kumi Gyamfi, the late Mama Acquah, Robert Hammond, Jacob Nettey and Amankwah Mireku.

The Supporters’ category has E.C. Quaye, Alhaji Awudu Iddrisu, Chapter ‘O’-Nima, Chapter 9-Kumasi, Chapter 13-Takoradi, Chapter 27-Tamale, Hearts Ladies and Madam Rose Klorkor Okine (alias Woman Tokyo) who were decorated on the night.

Former Board Member, Ernest Bediako, Frank Nelson and Isaac Tetteh were also presented with awards for their contributions towards the Club’s success whilst Sidalco Ghana Limited, Frandesco West Africa Limited, Arab Contractors, Cairo; Mobile Telecommunications Network  (MTN), Tullow Oil and Osam Petroleum Ghana Limited were the corporate bodies that received award.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.