President Mills to pick 100-year-old Accra Hearts of Oak top award

President Atta Mills

Accra Hearts of Oak SC has named 53 individuals, corporate institutions and supporters groups for honours as part of activities to mark the centenary celebrations of the Club.

The oldest exiting football Club in the country will climax their 100th birthday with a dinner on Saturday, November 12 at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra under the distinguished patronage Vice President John Dramani Mahama

Three players from each group of the victorious teams of 1958, 1977, 1979, 2000/01 and 2004 would also  be symbolically honoured during recess of the international friendly match on Sunday between Hearts/Enugu Rangers.

A statement issued and signed by Ashford Tettey Oku, Secretary of the Centenary Planning Committee copied to GNA Sports on Thursday said the segment of the celebrations dubbed, “Heroes Weekend” under the theme, “The Hearts of Oak Legacy, the Spirit that Never Dies”, will see former players, administrators, supporters and corporate institutions receiving special awards for their support towards the rise of the Club during the last century.

The statement said the flagship award will be presented to President John Evans Atta Mills, a former Chairman and Director of the Club for his distinguished services to the Club.

It named the late Christopher Brandford Nettey (also known as Asafoatse Nettey) as the other recipient of the Leadership Awards alongside President Mills.

The Patrons to be honoured include the late General Joseph Arthur Ankrah, Oyeeman Wereko Ampem II, Harry Romulus Sawyerr, John Saka Addo, Daniel Sackey Quarcoome and George Adjei Osekere.

The Directors include the late James Kwaku Moffat, Henry Plange Nyemitei, the late Seth Tetteh Nettey, Ato Ahwoi, Ernest Adote Thompson and Togbe Afede XIV, with the Management members made up of the late Tommy Thompson, the late William Frank Ekundayor Sawyerr, Dr Nyaho Nyaho-Tamakloe, Harry Zakkour and Nii Ayi Bonte (Gbese Mantse).

Coach  “Sir” Cecil Jones Attququayefio leads the pack for the Technical awardees which also includes Stephen Akwetey, the late Emmanuel Ofei Ansah, Alhaji Braimah Sulemana (Alhaji Hearts), Robert Amoo Dodoo and Akwei Addo with Lawrence Amaaku Adjaidoo, the late Joe Aplerh Lartey, Ashford Tettey Oku and the late Clement Kwashie Doku as the persons to be honoured in the Administration division.

The players include Lawrence Adu Darko, Nana Kumi Gyamfi, the late Mama Acquah, Robert Hammond, Jacob Nettey and Amankwah Mireku whilst the Supporters’ category has E.C. Quaye, Alhaji Awudu Iddrisu, Chapter ‘O’-Nima, Chapter 9-Kumasi, Chapter 13-Takoradi, Chapter 27-Tamale, Hearts Ladies and Madam Rose Klorkor Okine (alias Woman Tokyo).

Former Board Member, Ernest Bediako, Frank Nelson and Isaac Tetteh are the Individual benefactors to be decorated for their contributions towards the Club’s success whilst Sidalco Ghana Limited, Frandesco West Africa Limited, Arab Contractors, Cairo; Mobile Telecommunications Network  (MTN), Tullow Oil and Osam Petroleum Ghana Limited are the Corporate beneficiaries.

The centenary celebrations will be climaxed with an international friendly match against Enugu Rangers International of Nigeria at the Accra Sports Stadium on Sunday, November 13.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.