CPP dissolves shadow cabinet

The leadership of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) headed by Ms Samia Yaaba Nkrumah has dissolved the Shadow Cabinet formed in July 2010 to offer policy alternatives for the party to play its watch-dog role in the governance of the country.

The 15-member Shadow Cabinet formed and chaired by Mr. Ladi Nylander, former national chairman through the platform “How CPP will do it,” held periodic press conferences to articulate the party’s position on national issues.

A member of the CPP Central Committee told the Ghana News Agency in Accra that the dissolution was based on efforts to re-structure the party’s agenda, maximise its human and financial resources and strengthen it as a political force.

The Shadow Cabinet membership comprise: Dr. Abu Sakara in charge of Agriculture; Mr. Eric Benyarko, Environment, Science, Technology & Communications; Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, Finance and Economic Planning; Mr. Henry Lartey, Trade and Industry; Mr. George Oposika Aggudey,  Interior; Professor Agyeman Badu Akosa, Health, Education, Youth and Sports;  Ms Nkrumah, Parliamentary Affairs; Mr.Bright Akwetey, Attorney General and Justice.

Other members are Wing Commander Pat Sorgbordjor (rtd), Defence and National Security; Dr. Adolf Lutterrodt, Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration; Mr. R.O. Frimpong-Manso, Local Government; Mrs. Susan Adu-Amankwah, Employment and Social Welfare; Mr. Felix Amoah, Works, Housing, Water and Roads; and Mr. Kwame Jantuah, Energy, Mines, Lands and Forestry.

The current leadership has also initiated a process to revamp its Communication Department by changing its structure to Media and Information Unit. It is in the process of appointing a new head for the Unit.

It has therefore directed that all media houses should deal directly with current designated party officers who have the authority to speak on behalf of the party.

“On a normal basis, all official announcements on behalf of the CPP are made by the Chairperson of the party, the General Secretary, the Media and Information Unit at the office of the Chairperson, or anyone who has been designated to speak on the party’s behalf by the Chairperson,” Mr Ivor Greenstreet stated.

The current leaders are Ms Samia Yaaba Nkrumah, National Chairman; Mrs Susan Adu Amankwah, First Vice Chairman; Ms Rodaline Imoro-Ayarna, Second Vice Chairman; Mr Oteng Anane, Third Vice Chairman and Mr Seth Gomnah, National Treasurer.

The rest are Mr Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, General Secretary; Mr Abu Forgor, National Organiser; Ms Mary Ankomah Boakye Boateng, National Women’s Organiser and Mr Mohammed Murtala Ahmed, National Youth Organiser.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.