Six communities in Tain to benefit from World Bank rural water project

Alban Bagbin

Mr Alban Sumani Bagbin, Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing, on Tuesday announced that six communities in Tain District in the Brong Ahafo Region would benefit from the World Bank Sustainable Rural Water and Sanitation Projects (SRWSP).

He mentioned Debebi, Brodi, Brahani, Menji, Namasa and Banda-Ahenkro as the communities that  would be provided with water and sanitary facilities under the project, and said currently, Government with support from the International Development Agency of the World Bank was implementing the SRWSP in six Regions including the Brong Ahafo.

Mr Bagbin said these when he appeared before Parliament to answer a question tabled by Mr Ahmed Ibrahim , National Democratic Congress Party Member of Parliament  (MP) for Tain.

The Minister said the selection of beneficiary communities was the responsibility of the District Assemblies and the Regional Coordinating Councils, the implementers of the project.

Mr Bagbin asked the MP to contact the District Chief Executive of Tain to ensure that the beneficiary communities were selected and confirmed by the Regional Coordinating Councils.

He said the Ministry would continue to source funding to ensure that towns that were not selected were served in the near future.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.