EC spells out voting details at NDC Congress

The Electoral Commission (EC) has spelled out voting details for Saturday’s election of a flag bearer for the ruling National Democratic Congress in Sunyani, reliable sources said in Accra on Monday.

The sources said there would be a number of polling stations with two regions voting at one polling station. The Ashanti Region will, however, vote at one polling station because of the number of its delegates.

The sources said officials of the two contestants – President John Evans Atta Mills and former First Lady Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings – agreed the voting details at a meeting with the EC.

The Nana Konadu camp is celebrating this decision as her campaign officials had said the party’s original position to allocate one polling station to one region was unfair as it would lead to intimidation since the way the regions voted would be known immediately.

NDC General Secretary, Mr Johnson Asiedu-Anketiah, had said the one regional polling station was the way the national voting is carried out.

The sources said the EC was also taking over the printing of the ballot papers, with President Mills being at the top of the ballot and Nana Konadu being second.

The two camps have been winding up their campaign sending their final messages to delegates who would be voting after the most acrimonious campaign in the party’s history.

This is the first time a sitting president is being challenged and in this case, the challenge to President Mills is coming from the wife of the Founder, former President Rawlings.

While President Mills is running on the evidence of his performance during the two years he has been in office, Nana Konadu believes there is the need for a change of leadership because of the poor showing of the president.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.