Asamoah Gyan is Ghana’s Sports’ Personality of the Year

Asamoah Gyan - The Stars' key striker

Black Stars’ entertaining striker, Asamoah Gyan, was on Saturday crowned the Sports Personality of the Year 2010 by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG).

The striker went home with the highest honour of a plaque and a certificate with some souvenirs from the major sponsors at the 36th MTN SWAG Awards Night at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra.

The 25-year old forward edged colleague, Richard Kingson, and the International Boxing Federation Bantamweight Champion, Joseph King Kong Agbeko and took the flagship award.

SWAG’s President, Ackah Anthony, was assisted by Mr Reuben Nii Nortey Dua, Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports, Mrs Gina Asare-Fiagbenu, Senior Corporate Communications Manager of MTN Ghana, and SWAG’s Chief Patron, Walter Esposito to present Gyan with his prize, amidst pageantry.

Gyan was also named Footballer of the Year, outscoring Kingson and Andre Ayew to the prize.

The honour capped an impressive year for Gyan who won last year’s BBC African Footballer of the Year’s award.

The striker was the star man for the Black Stars during the 2010 Africa Cup of Nations in Angola and the World Cup in South Africa.

Gyan was also runner up to Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o for the prestigious Confederation of African Football (CAF) Footballer of the Year 2010 Award.

The feat by the Sunderland hitman confirms the dominance of footballers recently in the annual event after his Black Stars’ teammate Dominic Adiyiah also scooped a double in 2009.

With football dominating the honours list, the Black Stars was adjudged Team of the Year, with Ex-captain Stephen Appiah being honoured with the Dedication and Valour Prize and the Ghana Football Association’s (GFA) President, Kwesi Nyantakyi as Chairman of the Year.

Frederick Pappoe, GFA Vice President and Chairman of the Black Stars Management Committee, also took home a Special Prize alongside Dede, the second son of the legend, Abedi Ayew Pele, in recognition of his spectacular showings for the Black Stars during the year under review.

New Edubiase midfielder, Mumuni Abubakari was adjudged the Premiership Player of the Year ahead of Ahmed Toure of Asante Kotoko and Berekum Chelsea’s striker, Emmanuel Clottey.

Other award winners are Joseph Agbeko – Professional Boxer of the Year, Felix Lartey – Male Table Tennis Player of the Year, Beatrice Gyasi – Female Table Tennis Player of the Year, Salia Nsalbini – Male Hockey Player of the Year, Ramatu Abbas – Female Hockey Player of the Year and Johnny Botsio – Promising Star of the Year.

The rest are Aziz Zakari – Male Athlete of the Year, Anita Fordjour – Female Athlete of the Year, Awusoni Yekini – Amateur Boxer of the Year, Mfantsipim High School – Male Basketball Team of the Year and Sacred Heart Senior High School – Female Basketball Team of the Year.

Joseph Mingle and Lawrence Manyo both received the awards for Kick Boxing.

There were also Special Meritorious Awards for the Female Athletics Relay Team (4X100), Black Challenge (the national amputee football team), Kevin Prince Boateng, Promasidor Ghana Limited, Goldfields Ghana, the Reverend Emmanuel D. Nikoi – President of the Netball Association of Ghana, Simms Mensah, a former Chairman of Asante Kotoko and the late Tommy Thompson, also a former Chairman of Accra Hearts of Oak.

Danny Jordaan, Chief Executive Officer of the South Africa 2010 FIFA World Cup, was also presented with a special award for his role in the successful hosting of the first ever Mundial on African soil.

All award winners received souvenirs and products from the major sponsors – MTN Ghana, Promasidor Ghana Limited, RLG Communications – as well as plaques.

The event was to honour sportsmen and women who distinguished themselves in their respective fields during the year under review –2010.

Other sponsors are Guinness Ghana Breweries Limited, T.T. Brothers Company Limited, Solmed Ghana Limited, Multi TV, Papaye Fast Foods, Safina Mineral Water, Healthy Life Beverage Company, Stanbic Bank and Goldfields Ghana Limited.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.