President Mills pledges more facilities to improve education

President John Atta Mills

President John Evans Atta Mills on Tuesday pledged the resolve of the Government to provide the needed infrastructure to enhance teaching and learning in schools.

He said as it did this, it was important for the students to accept to do their bit by working hard on their books and to avoid cutting corners.

President Mills was performing the groundbreaking ceremony for construction work to begin on a GH¢900,000.00 ultra-modern classroom block for the Kumasi Vocational Training Institute at Suame.

The project is being funded through the Ghana Education Trust Fund (GETFund) and is scheduled to be completed within four months.

The President is in the Ashanti Region on a three-day official tour to see at first hand ongoing projects initiated by his Government to improve the lives of the people.

President Mills urged the contractors to do everything to complete the work on time and to ensure that there was value for money.

He repeated the promise that no part of the country would be discriminated against and that there would be equitable distribution of the national cake.

The President gave high marks to the government for its achievements within a little over two years in office and said Ghanaians would be the best judges of the remarkable job done.

Earlier, he inaugurated a GH¢108,620.00 laboratory for the Kumasi South Hospital at Agogo; a Community Clinic at Apatrapa; a GH¢261,681 block of six classrooms at Opoku Ware Senior High School (SHS) and another block of six classrooms for the Yaa Asantewaa SHS.

President Mills also inspected some ongoing projects including a 3,000 capacity auditorium complex at the Kumasi campus of the University of Education, Winneba and an assembly hall at the Yaa Asantewaa SHS.

Mr Fidelis Matthew Oppong-Mensah, Headmaster of Opoku Ware SHS, appealed to the Government to ensure that contractors working on the various school projects completed them on schedule.

He was accompanied by government functionaries including the Chief of Staff, Mr Henry Martey Newmann; Finance Minister, Dr Kwabena Duffuor; Energy Minister, Dr Joseph Oteng-Agyei; Education Minister, Mrs betty Mould-Iddrisu; Local Government and Rural Development Minister, Mr Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo; Minister of Roads, Mr Joe Gidisu and Ashanti Regional Minister, Dr Kwaku Agyemang-Mensah.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.