Atwima-Nwabiagya Assembly fails to elect presiding member

The 56-member Atwima-Nwabiagya District Assembly has for the third time in 21 days failed to break the deadlock over the election of a presiding member (PM).

After two rounds of voting, none of the two contestants for the position, Mr Stephen Boateng, immediate past PM, and Mr Anthony Bernard Ansah, could secure the mandatory two-thirds majority votes.

Earlier, a third candidate, Mr Kwaku Boateng, had withdrawn his nomination.

Ms Fatima Kantoma, the District Electoral Officer, said a new date would be fixed for the election.

The Ashanti Regional Minister, Dr Kwaku Agyemang-Mensah, who hails from the area, urged the members to climb down from their entrenched positions to find a common ground.

He said they should put the interest of the district ahead of any other consideration.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.