Afiya-Kwabre for the second time fails to elect PM

The 42-member, Afigya-Kwabre District Assembly, had for the second time in two weeks, failed to break the deadlock over the election of a Presiding Member (PM).

After three rounds of voting, none of the two contestants, Nana Boakye Atonsa and Mr Yaw Osei Anning, were able to secure the mandatory two-thirds majority votes.

This forced the postponement of the election to another date.

Mr Oppong Kyekyeku-Kaakyire, the District Chief Executive (DCE), earlier pleaded with the members to put the interest and development of the district ahead of all other considerations and move from their entrenched positions.

He said it should not be lost on them that the continued stalemate was unhelpful to the progress of the area.

This was the more reason they should find common ground and make sure that they pick the PM, the next time the assembly convenes, he added.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.