Ejisu-Juaben Assembly fails to elect Presiding Member

The election of Presiding Member (PM) by the Ejisu-Juaben Municipal Assembly, has for the second time ended in a stalemate.

Three rounds of voting and intense lobbying failed to produce a winner with none of the two contestants polling the required two-thirds majority votes.

Mr Nicholas Owusu-Sekyere, immediate past Presiding Member, secured 40 votes, as against 28 votes garnered by Mr Anning Dei, a government appointee.

A candidate would need to obtain at least 46 votes of the 68-member assembly to get elected.

Members supporting Mr Owusu-Sekyere threatened to vote against any person appointed by the President as Municipal Chief Executive (MCE).

Mr Frempong Boadu, the Municipal Coordinating Director, earlier advised the members to put the interest and development of the Municipality ahead of all other considerations.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.