Home / Politics / Afigya-Kwabre District Assembly elections ends in stalemate

Afigya-Kwabre District Assembly elections ends in stalemate

Share this with more people!

The election of a Presiding Member (PM) by the Afigya-Kwabre District Assembly ended in a stalemate, as none of the two contestants could secure the two-thirds majority votes.

It was a straight competition between Nana Boakye Yiadom, Chief of Denase, and Mr Osei Yaw Anim.

After two rounds of voting had produced no winner, the election was called off, to be held at a later date.

Earlier, there were fierce verbal exchanges over the number of the government appointees.

A group of the assembly members insisted that the appointees should be 13 and not 19 and this generated into heated argument.

Calm was only restored after the District Magistrate, Mr Stephen Asuure, counseled that those who felt aggrieved could go to court to seek redress.

He said the fact that somebody had been inducted into office could not prevent people from going to the courts to seek redress.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

EC outdoors 16-member Adjudication Review Committee

Electoral Commission (EC) on Wednesday outdoored a 16-member Adjudication Review Committee (ARC) with the mandate …