Ghanaian entrepreneurs nominated for awards

Some prominent Ghanaian entrepreneurs have been nominated to receive awards at the maiden Ghana Entrepreneurs Awards, scheduled for Friday, April 15, in Accra.

The awards are meant to commemorate World Entrepreneurship Day (WED) which is a 24-hour world-wide celebration of entrepreneurship and innovation since 2009.

This year marks the third celebration of WED and the first in Ghana.

It is being organised by Entrepreneurs Foundation of Ghana (EFG) a non-profit organisation striving to foster entrepreneurship in Ghana through mentoring, networking and education.

A statement issued in Accra on Monday by Mr Sam Ato Gaisie, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Founder of EFG said the awards were being organised in collaboration with the Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning and Ghana National Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

It said some of the entrepreneurs nominated by financial institutions and associations included Dr Michael Agyekum Addo, CEO of Kama Group, Mr Kofi Nsiah Poku, CEO of Kinapharma, Prince Kofi Amoabeng, CEO of UT Bank, Dr Alhaji Asoma Banda, CEO of Antrak Group, Dr Kofi Amoah, CEO of Progency Ventures and Mr Roland Agambire, CEO of RLG.

The rest are, Ms Constance Swaniker, CEO of Accents and Art, Mr Edward Effah of Fidelity Bank, Mr Ken Ofori-Atta, CEO of Databank, Mr Ernest Bediako Sampong, CEO of Ernest Chemist and Mr John Taylor, CEO of Cirrus Oil.

Other entrepreneurs nominated for the various categories are Mr Osei Kwame Despite, CEO of Despite Group of Companies, Mr Kwasi Twum, CEO of Multi Media, Mr Kwaw Ansah, CEO of TV Africa, Ms Esther Cobbah, CEO of Stratcom and Mr Joseph Siaw Agyepong, CEO of J.A. Plant Pool and Zoomlion.

Other nominees are, Mr Tony Oteng Gyasi, CEO of Tropical Cable, Mr Alfred Gyateng, CEO of Kingdom Books and Stationery, Dr Yaw Adu-Agyei Gyamfi, CEO of Danadams, Mr Kojo Bonsu, CEO of Agoo Media, Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom and CEO of Coconut Grove Regency Hotel.

The rest are, Mr Kwesi Amoafo-Yeboah, CEO of I-Tel, Mr Seth Adu, CEO of Devtraco, Mr Emmanuel Botchwey, CEO of Regimanuel-Gray, Mr Kwame Acheampong Kyei, CEO of Glico, Mr Kobina Asmah, CEO of Type,  Mrs Theresa Oppong-Beeko, CEO of Manet and Mr Albert Ocran, CEO of Combert.

According to Mr Gaisie, a panel of judges would be selected from recognised personalities from diverse field of industry, sectors and disciplines to review the nominations.

He explained that decision of the panel would be based on entrepreneurial spirit, financial performance, innovation, growth in annual sales, employment generation, a reputation for integrity and proven involvement in Ghana’s economic growth.

The categories to be competed for are Overall Best Entrepreneur for 2010, Young Entrepreneur, Lifetime Achievement, Outstanding, Special Achievement, and Most Promising Woman Entrepreneur.

There would be awards in IT and Telecommunication, Export, Insurance, Banking, Non Banking, SME Innovation, Services, Manufacturing, Books and Stationery, Pharmaceuticals distribution and manufacturing, Advertising, Electronic and Print Media Commercial Printing, Automobile, Education, and Health Sectors.

Others are Cosmetics and Personal Care, Food and Beverage, Transportation, Hospitality and Tourism, Real Estate and Construction, Agriculture, Electrical, Environment and Sanitation and Media Communication.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.