Oil Marketing Companies name accredited members for 2011

The Association of Oil Marketing Companies (AOMCs) on Saturday named 40 accredited oil marketing companies in good standing for business in 2011.

The companies are” Agapet Oil, Allied Oil, Anasset Oil, AP Oil & Gas, Bano Oil, Capstone Oil Ltd, Champion Oil, Dukes Petroleum, Engen Ghana Ltd, Excel Oil, Fraga Oil, Frimps Oil, Galaxy Oil, Ghana Oil, Glory Oil, Havillah Oil, Keysens Oil Market, and Manbah Gas.

The Merchant Oil, Modex Oil, Nasona Oil, Oando Ghana, Obiba J.K, Pacific, Shell Ghana, Sky Petroleum, Star Oil, Sonnidom Energy, Strategic Energies, Superior Oil Co, Top Oil, Total Petroleum, Trade Cross, Trinity Oil, UBI  Petroleum, Union Oil, Unity Oil, Universal Oil, and Virgin Petroleum.

Announcing the members at the fourth annual general meeting in Accra, Mr Kwaku Agymang Duah AOMCs Industry Cordinator said although it was not a requirement for all network marketing companies to become members of the Association, members stood to benefit from corperate recognition.

He called on oil marketing companies who are yet to register with the Association to come on board, for “in unity lies strength”.

He said the Association would this year launch out a national programme to promote the interests of its members and bodies engaged as marketers of petroleum products in the country to ensure that the public enjoys good services.

Mr Agyemang-Duah said “we will continue to ensure the development and practice of safety, healthy and environmentally acceptable professional petroleum industry practices.

“We will ensure that members act with integrity probity, accountability and transparency in pursuit of their business objectives by ensuring: strict compliance with all the laws of the country, none engagement in product dumping and adulteration practices and maintain quality standards and responsibility to customers”.

The AOMCs Industry Co-ordinator said it will continue to create enabling environment for fruitful engagement between the Association and all the major Stakeholders in the Oil Industry, the Ministries and other Government Agencies.

These include: Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Finance & Economic Planning, Bank of Ghana, National Petroleum Authority (NPA), The Energy Commission, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Tema Oil Refinery (TOR), Revenue Agencies Governing Board (RAGB), Ghana Standard Board, Ghana Fire Service, Customs Exercise and Preventive Service (CEPS), Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and Bulk Oil Storage and Transportation Co. Ltd.

Mr Yaw Agyemang Duah, Board Chairman the Association will continue to be an effective partner for growth in the country and provide for the petroleum industry the means of advising, informing, influencing and executing policy with regard to economic, fiscal, legal, industrial, technical and other matters relating to the industry.

He said the Board this year will intensify means of pursuing healthy business relationships and practices in the industry and in this regard, prescribe desirable code of conduct and industry practices.

“We will undertake programmes that will enhance the status and improve the professional knowledge, value and understanding for the business, encourage the efficiency of the petroleum industry by providing advice, information and other services and to create a means of co-operation with Government in all matters relating to petroleum and energy in Ghana,” he said.

The members retained unopposed the seven-member board headed by Mr Yaw Agyemang Duah and Mr Jonathan Molapo, Managing Director of Total Petroleum Ghana Ltd, Vice Chairman.

Other members are; Mr Omar V. Benson, Managing Director, Shell Ghana Ltd; Mr Victor Alhassan, Managing Director, Star Oil Company Ltd; Mr Tsuwa Thompson, Country Manager, Oando; and Mr Felix Gyekye, Managing Director,
Glory Oil Company Ltd.

The rest are; Mr Emmanuel Abledu, Managing Director, Agapet Oil Company Ltd and Mr Kwaku Agyemang-Duah, Industry Co-ordinator as Board Secretary.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.