Russia hosts 2018 World Cup, 2022 edition goes to Qatar

Contrary to expectations, Russia has been selected to host the 2018 World Cup and as expected in some cases, Qatar wins the bid to host the 2022 edition.

Both Russia and Qatar will be hosting the global football competition for the first time.

At a brief but impressive ceremony at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, FIFA President Sepp Blatter announced amidst cheers from Russian and Qatari officials that the two countries have been selected to host the 2018 and 2022 editions of the global football competition.

22 FIFA Executive Committees members voted to select the two countries.

Coming at the heels of allegations of bribery and corruption against some FIFA officials these two editions of the World Cup would be seen as historical.

The following countries have hosted the World Cup so far.

Italy – 1934
France  – 1938
Brazil – 1950
Switzerland  – 1950
Sweden – 1958
Chile – 1962
England – 1966
Mexico – 1970
West Germany – 1974
Argentina – 1978
Spain – 1982
Mexico – 1986
Italy – 1990
USA – 1994
France – 1998
South Korea and Japan – 2002
Germany – 2006
South Africa – 2010

By Emmanuel K. Dogbevi

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.