NPP retains Atiwa seat

The New Patriotic Party (NPP), retained the Atiwa constituency seat when its Parliamentary candidate, Mr. Kwesi Amoako Atta, polled 20,282 votes in the by-election held on Tuesday, representing 75 per cent of the total votes cast.

Mr. Emmanuel Atta Twum of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), had 6,190 votes, representing 22.89 per cent, while Mr. George Padmore Apreku, of the New Vision party, polled 477 votes representing 1.76 percent.

Mr. Kasum Abdul Karim, of the People’s National Convention (PNC), obtained 94 votes representing 0.3 per cent.

The total valid votes cast were 27,043 with 497 rejected ballots.

Turn-out of the election was 53.31 per cent.

The constituency has total registered voter population of 51,658.

The Atiwa by-election was held due to the death of Kwasi Annor Ankamah, the Member of Parliament, early this year.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.