Satellites wallop Young Warriors 4-0 in African Qualifier

Ghana’s Black Satellites beat their Namibian Counterparts 4-0 in their Orange African Youth Championship Qualifier on Sunday at the Ohene Djan Stadium, Accra.

A brace from Frank Achemapong and a goal each from Mahatma Otoo and Abdul Aziz Yusif gave the Satellites a seemingly convincing win ahead of the second leg billed for Windhoek in a fortnight.

The Satellites, the reigning African and World Champions, put up a sub-standard performance against the Southern Africans, who posed no threat for the hosts.

With Israeli-based James Bissue and Genoa Midfielder Richmond Boakye Yiadom as the only foreign-based players in the Team, the Satellites made clear their intentions from the onset.

Captain Otoo broke the deadlock on two minutes by heading in from lanky strike partner Kwame Nsor’s cross from the right.

Seven minutes on, Nsor was the provider again as Acheampong slammed home a half volley that left the Namibian Goalie, Collin Ndjai with no option.

The early goals unsettled the Young Warriors but the Satellites were unadventurous in front of goal and could not take full advantage of the opportunity.

By the half-hour mark, the Nambians had warmed themselves into the game, but they failed to make any meaningful impact as they often kept the ball in the midfield.

After failing to make the most of the chances that came their way in the first session, the Satellites resumed the second half with increased momentum but they had to wait till the 65th minute to increase the tally through substitute Yusif, whose first contact with the ball, a header from Acheampong’s cross zoomed into the net.

Six minutes from time, Acheampong completed his brace with the fourth goal of the game.

The Satellites would advance to the final lap after scaling over the Namibian hurdle. Libya will host the continental championship next year.


Ghana: Akwasi Acheampong, Bright Addae, Francis Morton. Rashid Sumaila, Karim Alhassan, James Bissue/Jackson Owusu, Enoch Ebo Andoh/Abdul Aziz Yusif, Kwame Nsor, Richmond Boakye Yiadom/Aaron Amoah, Mahatma Otoo, Franck Acheampong

Namibia: Colin Ndjai, Denziol Haoseb, Gregorius Tsuseb, Sakeus Wilbard, Larry Horaeb, Robinson Iyambo, Alfeus Handura, Neville Katita/Gerson Asheelo, Sadney Nrikhob/Willy Stephanus, Eslin Kamuhanga, Roger Katjiteo

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.