Home / General News / Ghana Armed Forces to host Africa Endeavour 2010

Ghana Armed Forces to host Africa Endeavour 2010

Share this with more people!

Ghana Armed Forces (GAF) will host the 2010 Africa Endeavour (AE), a US- Africa Command’s annual communications exercise that focuses on inter-operability and information sharing in Accra from August 2- August 12.

The exercise between the US and African partners is to develop command, control and communication tactics, techniques and procedures that can be used by the African Union in support of humanitarian assistance, disaster relief and peacekeeping missions.

The first Africa Endeavour was held in South Africa in 2006, the second in Nigeria in 2008 and third in Gabon, 2009.

This year’s exercise to be attended by about 30 African countries would tackle networking fundamentals, server administration and management and core services of participating countries.

Addressing a press conference in Accra on Monday, Brigadier-General Joseph Searyoh, Director of Defence Communication and Information Systems of GAF said this year’s exercise sought to build upon the successes of previous exercises, explaining that effective communications was the key to multi-national inter-operability.

“Information is the oxygen of the modern world and transcends the boundaries of every aspect of today’s global society.

“Our collective actions in improving the way we create, share, gain access to and use information are tearing down walls and building bridges in fostering a greater understanding and furthering the goals we share in common,” he added.

Commander Britt Talbert, Director of Programmes for US Africa Command said favourable testimonies from various countries had resulted in the increase in participation.

He noted that AE since its inception; had harmonised communications between nations, as well as sharing of technical expertise at minimal cost.

Some of the participating countries are Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, and Gambia.

The rest are Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia.

Source: GNA

Share this with more people!

Check Also

Two car snatchers jailed 20 years each

The Accra Circuit Court Eight has sentenced two car snatchers to 20 years imprisonment each …