Mills says 2010 is year of action

President Atta Mills

President John Evans Atta Mills on Monday reminded Ministers of State and other functionaries in his administration to work to the best of their abilities and build on the gains achieved in the previous year.

He called on them to collaborate and unite as they discharged their assignments, and reminded them that they were equal before the law and would be judged by the people on their performance.

The President was swearing in five newly appointed Ministers of State and a Deputy Minister, in the first post-ministerial reshuffle in the Mills Administration, at the Osu Castle in Accra.

He asked political office holders to work hard to raise the standards of living of the people.

The new Ministers are Mr Enoch Teye Mensah, Minister of Employment and Social Welfare; Mr Martin Amidu, Minister of the Interior; Mr John Akologu Tia, Minister of Information, Mr Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin; Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing; Mr Moses Babenga, Minister of the Northern Region, and Mr Fuseinu Inusah, Deputy Minister of Energy.

They swore to the Oath of allegiance, oath of Minister of State and Oath of Secrecy and were presented with their Instrument of Office.

President Mills said the Government was able to revive the economy in its first year in office despite the inherited challenges which could have made one throw up his hands in despair.

He said the Government halted the depreciation of the cedi which was now faring well against all major currencies and brought down inflation that and was now hovering around 14 per cent in addition to a drop in interest rates.

President Mills said Government had now entered the second half of the first half, which in football was usually the period when goals are scored, and declared the year as the Year of Action.

President Mills reminded the new ministers that they had been appointed based on their expertise, and asked them to be guided by the fact that the National Democratic Congress Government would only be retained in power if it performed to the satisfaction of the people.

He observed that some of the appointees had been ministers before and asked them to apply their track records, expertise and collaboration to bring smiles on the faces of Ghanaians.

Mr. Mensah was Minister in the previous administration and Majority Chief Whip in Parliament, Mr Bagbin until his appointment was the Majority Leader in Parliament.

The President prayed for divine guidance, commitment and dedication to work for the new ministers.

Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, General Secretary of the NDC, said the party was putting forward some of its best materials to help achieve pledges in the party’s 2008 manifesto.

The NDC General Secretary, re-echoing the assignments of the ministers, asked the Deputy Minister of Energy to ensure constant supply of electricity, Minister of Employment to ensure industrial peace, Interior Minister to prevent fire outbreaks and Minister of Information to tell the success story of the Government.

The Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing, Mr Bagbin, on behalf of his colleagues, expressed thanks to God for bringing them that far, saying they had been worthy of the trust and confidence of the President.

He promised that they would be committed not only to Government’s “Better Ghana Agenda”, but also to the overall interest of Ghanaians to build a lasting and memorable legacy of the Mills Administration.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.