Black Stars to face Congo, Sudan and Swaziland in CAN 2012 qualifiers

Ghana’s Black Stars have been drawn against Congo, Sudan and Swaziland for the qualifying series of the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Stars were pitted in Group “I” of the draw conducted by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in Lubumbashi, DR Congo on Saturday.

Ghana was seeded alongside African champions, Egypt, Algeria, Cote d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Nigeria, Zambia, Angola, Tunisia, Burkina Faso and Mali based on performance from recent and previous competitions.

It will be the second time in succession that the Stars have been drawn against the Desert Hawks of Sudan, whom they managed back-to-back victories during the final round of the 2010 World Cup/Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Information gathered by GNA Sports has it that 44 teams were involved in the draw process for the 28th edition of the continent’s showpiece soccer event.

The qualifying series is expected to commence after the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, which ends on July 11, 2010.

From the draw, the teams were divided into eleven groups of four teams each with the group winners and the three best runners-up qualifying for the final tournament to be co-hosted by Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

Reigning African champions, Egypt were paired in Group G alongside 2010 World Cup hosts South Africa, Niger and Sierra Leone.

Four-time continental lords, the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon have been handed a seemingly tough draw having been pitted in Group E alongside DR Congo, Senegal and Mauritius.

Group A has Cape Verde, Mali, Liberia and Zimbabwe, with Nigeria, Madagascar, Ethiopia and Guinea completing Group B.

Mozambique, Libya, Zambia and Comoros make up Group C with World Cup finalists Algeria facing off with Tanzania, Morocco and Central African Republic in Group D.

Gabon and Equatorial Guinea qualify automatically as co-hosts.

Below are the full groups:

Group A – Cape Verde, Mali, Liberia, Zimbabwe

Group B – Nigeria, Madagascar, Ethiopia, Guinea

Group C – Mozambique, Libya, Zambia, Comoros

Group D – Algeria, Tanzania, Morocco, Central African Republic

Group E – DR Congo, Senegal, Mauritius, Cameroon

Group F – Mauritania, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Namibia

Group G – South Africa, Niger, Egypt, Sierra Leone

Group H – Cote d’Ivoire, Rwanda, Benin, Burundi

Group I – Sudan, Congo, Swaziland, Ghana

Group J – Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Uganda, Angola

Group K – Tunisia, Botswana, Chad, Malawi

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.