Bank of Ghana Board inaugurated

Togbe Afede

President John Evans Atta Mills on Thursday inaugurated a new board for the Bank of Ghana with a charge to the 10 members to fashion out policies that would help to achieve Government’s Better Ghana Agenda.

The Board by law is chaired by the Governor of the Bank of Ghana, who currently is Mr Kwesi Bekoe Amissah- Arthur, an Economist and Former Deputy Minister of  Finance.

The nine other members are Dr Henry Kofi Wampah and Mr Millison Narh, both Deputy Governors of  Ghana’s Central Bank.

The other members are Mr Seth Terkper, Deputy Minister of Finance; TogbeAfede, a traditional Chief and Economist; Mr Bram Larbi, a Legal Practitioner, Mrs Esther Lily Nkansah, former Western Regional Minister, Mr Obu Andah, Deputy Chief Executive of Cocobod; Dr Sydney Laryea, and Mr Sam Appah.

They swore to the Oath of Office and Oath of Secrecy,  after which the President presented them with their Instrument of Office.

President Mills said he was really happy that at last the inauguration had become possible, and reminded the members that they had been chosen because of their expertise, experience, commitment and dedication to the cause of Ghana.

He urged them to bring out monetary policies to address the economic challenges facing the nation, and assured them of Government’s support in the discharge of their duties.

The President wished them well and prayed for God’s wisdom, guidance and understanding to be able to perform the onerous responsibility.

Togbe Afede, on behalf of the Board, thanked the President for the confidence resposed in the members and promised to build on the economic stability so far achieved under the Mills administration, dwelling on what he termed “the inspirational leadership of the President”.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.