Mills sure of another victory in 2012

President Mills swearing the oath of office

President John Evans Atta Mills on Sunday set the tone for the electioneering campaign towards the victory of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) in Election 2012, determined to lead the Party to retain power.

“The campaign for 2012 Elections has just begun, and we will win,” President Mills said at the end of the three-day Eighth National Delegates’ Congress in Tamale.

President Mills, who had in an earlier speech described himself as a serial loser turned serial winner, stated emphatically that the NDC would win the Election 2012, massively.

“If our detractors are disappointed, we owe them no apology because God is on our side. He listened to us and gave us more than what we asked from Him,” he said to a thunderous applause from the delegates in the packed to capacity Tamale WAEC Hall.

The congress was held on the theme: “Overcoming the challenges of building a Better Ghana”, and it was seen as a crucial meeting to forge unity in the Party and to galvanise the people towards the achievement of the principles of probity, accountability and transparency.

President Mills said the results of the Party elections had shown that it was determined to unite to build a Better Ghana.

He said by the results everybody had seen that the Party cherished peace and entreated the delegates to do their best for the Party to win Election 2010.

The new Executive is an admixture of new and old faces with Dr Kwabena Adjei, the incumbent Party Chairman and Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketia, incumbent General Secretary, retaining their positions.

The six positions of Vice Chair Persons went to Former First Lady, Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings; Former Communications Minister, Dr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah; Former General Secretary of the Party, Alhaji Huudu Yahaya; Director of the National Disaster Management Organisation, Mr Kofi Portuphy; Former Minister of Science and Environment, Alhaji Said Sinare, and Former Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the Party, Mr Danny Annang.

The position of National Treasurer went to Mr Kamel Noshie; National Propaganda Secretary went to Mr Richard Quarshiga, while the National Executive Committee (NEC) Members were: Mr Abu Lamin Sadat; Madam Victoria Kuma; Mr John Owusu Agyemang; Dr E.K. Hayford and Mr Richard Lantey Lawson.

Mr Yaw Gyan and Madam Betty Agbornobor were elected unopposed for the positions of National Organiser and Deputy National Organiser, respectively.

Source: GNA

No Comments
  1. eric says

    The NDC are saying what sweets them, the current pesident seem not to understand ghanaians.
    they will be voted out of power in the 2012 election. why? for good one year, the better ghana is now the worsen ghana.
    ATTAH is on the throne watching is members and ordinary people doing what they like in this mother ghana.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.