SWAG releases list of 2009 outstanding sports performers

Michael Essien

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has released the list of outstanding sports performers in 2009 and other individuals who have been earmarked for honours at the 35th SWAG Awards Night scheduled for next year.

A statement signed and issued by William Dodzi Ezah, Acting General Secretary of SWAG said three footballers; Michael Essien – (Chelsea/Black Stars), John Painstil (Fulham/Black Stars) and young sensation Dominic Adiyiah of the Black Satellites fame will vie for the top most award – ‘The Sports Personality of the Year’.

According to the statement, the same set of nominees will compete for the ‘2009 Footballer of the Year’ award.

The statement said three players on the local scene, Obed Ansah – Accra Hearts of Oak, Lee Arday – Bechem Chelsea and Jordan Opoku – Kumasi Asante Kotoko have also been nominated for the ‘Premiership Player of the Year’ award, a category reserved solely for players in the local league, whilst Kotoko’s striker Alex Asamoah is pencilled for the ‘Top Scorer’ Award.

The statement named other nominees to include Kwesi Nyantakyi, Chairman of the Ghana Football Association (GFA), as ‘Chairman of the Year’, whilst Black Stars and Roda JC of Dutch Eredivisie player, Eric Addo has been nominated for the ‘Dedication and Valour’ Award.

It added that Coach Selas Tetteh of the Black Satellites fame has been nominated as ‘Coach of the Year’, with the 2009 World Under-20 Champions, the Satellites going for the ‘Team of the Year’ award.

The statement said Mr Jordan Anagbla, Chairman of the Black Satellites Management Committee and former Chairman of the Ghana Boxing Authority, (GBA) Moses Foh Amoaning have been named for the ‘Special Meritorious Award’ category.

Other nominees, according to the statement are; Referee of the Year – Joseph O. Lamptey of the Ghana Immigration Service (GIS), Promising Star of the Year – Emmanuel Quartey, Amateur Boxer of the Year – Manyo Plange, members of the Black Bombers, the Ghana Amateur Boxing team, Benedict Sam and Pamela Condebery, male and female Hockey Players of the year respectively.

The statement said newly crowned Commonwealth Boxing Council (CBC) Super Middleweight Champion, Charles Adamu has been nominated as the ‘Professional Boxer of the Year’.

The list also includes; Derek Abrefa and Cythia Kwabi of the national table tennis team, the Black Loopers as the best male and female players of the year respectively.

Also in line to be honoured for the ‘Special Awards Category’ are; Oko Niikoi Djanie, Chairman of the Ghana Hockey Association (GHA) for his immense contribution to the development of hockey, Yaw Sakyi – of Rite Multimedia for promoting community and schools Basketball and the National Bodybuilding Team and the senior national team, the Black Stars for making second successive appearance at the Federation of International Football Association (FIFA) World Cup.

The statement said the Association will after further consultation release another batch of nominees for the Discovery of the Year Award, outstanding performers in Golf and a few other nominees.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.