Majority of MPs as ministers a problem for Mills – CDDs

President Atta Mills
President Atta Mills

The Centre for Democratic Development – Ghana (CDD-Ghana) has expressed worry that the constitutional provision that required that majority of ministers are chosen from Parliament could create problems for the new administration.

Considering the representation of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in Parliament, the absence of even a few of their members could split Parliament and this could affect the government’s legislative agenda, Mr. Victor Brobbey, Research Associate of CDD-Ghana, told the GNA in Accra.

He said although the Constitution required that majority of ministers should be selected from Parliament, government must seriously consider its effects in subsequent appointments.

Mr. Brobbey also pointed out that the decision by President John Evans Atta Mills to merge the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General contravened his manifesto.

He said President Atta Mills in his campaign promised to split the two portfolios and therefore asked why he had maintained what the previous administration did.

Article 88 (i) and (ii) of the 1992 Constitution state that “There shall be an Attorney-General of Ghana who shall be a Minister of State and the principal legal adviser to the Government.

“The Attorney-General shall discharge such other duties of a legal nature as may be referred or assigned to him by the President, or imposed on him by this Constitution or any other law.”

The Research Associate lauded President Mills for fulfilling his pledge to include more women in his government, saying; “The country has many educated and capable women who can handle the task”.

President Atta Mills’ first list of ministerial nominees released on Thursday listed 10 names, half of whom were women. One of the five nominees for regional ministers is also a woman.

Mr Brobbey expressed confidence in the nominees, but said it was too early to make any predictions on how the new administration would perform under them.

He also asked President Mills to take time in making his appointments, but warned that too much time could lead to constitutional issues.

The nominees are Mr. Mike Hammah, Ministry of Transport, Mr. Alex Tetteh-Enyo, Ministry of Education, Ms. Hannah Tetteh, Ministry of Trade and Industry, Dr. Oteng Adjei, Ministry of Energy and Mrs. Betty Mould Iddrisu, Ministry of Justice and Attorney-General.

The others are Ms. Akua Dansua Ministry of Women and Children’s Affairs, Mrs. Juliana Azumah Mensah, Ministry of Tourism, Mr. Collins Dauda, Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources, Mr. Haruna Iddrisu, Ministry of Communications and Ms. Shirley Ayitey, Ministry of Environment,Science and Technology.

The nominated Regional Ministers  are Mr Mahmood Khalid, Upper West, Mr Nyamekye Marfo, Brong Ahafo, Nii Armah Ashitey, Greater Accra Region, Mr Ofosu Ampofo, Eastern Region and Ms Ama Benyiwa-Doe for  the Central Region.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.