Mills names transitional team

Prof. Atta Mills - President-elect
Prof. Atta Mills - President-elect

President-elect Prof. John Evans Atta Mills has named a 12-member transitional team, just a day after he was declared winner of the December 28 run-off voting.

The team headed by a former secretary in the Peoples National Defence Council (PNDC) administration, P.V. Obeng is to oversee a smooth handing over from the Kufuor-led administration to the incoming administration.

Nine sub-committees have also been tasked with specific responsibilities.

Mr. Victor Gheho, a former diplomat and foreign minister heads the sub committee on inauguration, Togbui Afede Aso has been named chairman of the sub committee on economy.

Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni chairs the sub-committee on Governance.

Others are Mr. Ekow Spio Garbrah, chairman of the sub-committee on Social sector, Mrs Betty Mould Iddrissu, chairman, sub-committee on legal matters.

Brigadier Gen. Joseph Nunoo Mensah heads the national security sub-committee and Kwame Peprah sub-committee on Energy.

Dr. Don Arthur and Alhaji Mahama Iddrisu head the sub-committee on transfers of executive assets and nominations sub-committee respectively.

Alex Segbefia hitherto the campaign director of the NDC, has been named secretary, with Ms Hannah Tetteh acting as the spokesperson for the transitional team.

The team is scheduled to hold its first meeting on Sunday at the Accra International Conference Centre.

Credit: Nathan Gadugah

Source: myjoyonline

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.