Ghana election challenge: Supreme Court to rule on NDC application January 22

The Supreme Court
The Supreme Court building

The Supreme Court says it will rule on the National Democratic Congress (NDC)’s application seeking to join a petition contesting the declaration of President John Dramani Mahama as winner of the December 7, 2012 presidential poll.

The petition was filed by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) after the Electoral Commission of Ghana (EC), Chairman Dr. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan announced the final results and declared John Mahama winner of the 2012 elections on December 9, 2012.

The Court sitting in Accra Wednesday January 16, 2013 said it will rule on whether the NDC can be joined to the case on January 22, 2013.

Nana Ato Dadzie, one of the lawyers representing the NDC, told reporters at the court premises that the NDC wants to join the case because it sponsored John Mahama as candidate in the election.

The initial hearing of the case was on Thursday, January 10, 2013, but the court had to indefinitely adjourn the hearing of the application after lawyers for the petitioners objected to the composition of the nine-member panel presided over by Mr Justice William Atuguba.

Other members of the panel are Mr Justice Julius Ansah, Mrs Justice Sophia Adinyira, Ms Justice Rose Owusu, Mr Justice Jones Dotse, Mr Justice Annin Yeboah, Mr Justice P. Baffoe-Bonnie, Mr Justice N. S. Gbadegbe and Mrs Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo.

The lawyers for the petitioners, however, withdrew their opposition to the panel on Friday, January 11, 2013, barely 24-hours after they had raised the objection.

Following the withdrawal, the Registrar of the Supreme Court, Mr James Amoah, served hearing notices on lawyers for parties in the case for today January 16, 2013.

The NPP on December 28, 2012 filed a complaint at the Supreme Court of Ghana challenging the results of the 2012 presidential elections.

Three leading members of the NPP, Nana Akufo-Addo, flagbearer, Dr. Mahmud Bawumia vice-presidential candidate and Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey Chairman are first, second and third complainants respectively.

By Emmanuel K. Dogbevi

  1. Nana go ahead .

  2. Mimi says

    Nana pls stop all dix ,,,,,, it will nt help u.s.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.