Kadjebi District clears backlog of teachers’ awards

School under treeKadjebi District in the Volta Region has taken steps to clear its backlog of best teachers’ award scheme, which is outstanding from 2006 to date, by awarding 28 recipients for their meritorious duty and steadfastness to the teaching profession.

The backlog from 2006 to 2009 was cleared, with outstanding accumulation for the subsequent years, including 2012 yet to be cleared.

The awards that were instituted in 1995 were for teachers in the Primary, Junior High School (JHS), Senior High School (SHS), and those in special categories, including Mathematics and Science, French, Technical and Vocational studies.

Mr Seth Alifui, Kadjebi District Chief Executive, announced these at a ceremony to award teachers in the district, who had distinguished themselves in their profession, at Kadjebi, the district capital.

He said government would continue to motivate teachers to enable them to meaningfully contribute to the development of education, and explained that the backlog was due to financial difficulties.

Mr Alifu commended the award winners for their dedication to duty, and asked those who did not win to work harder to enable them to achieve greater heights.

Mr Augustus Asah-Awuku, Kadjebi District Director of Education, said the criteria for selection of award winners, has been knotted on professional competency, teacher moral, social and emotional characters as well as community factors.

He said though the awards were belated, it would help motivate teachers to discharge their duties assiduously.

Madam Dorcas Ama Obeng (Primary), Mr Daniel Akoto (JHS), Mr Paul Noamesi( JHS, Mathematics/Science), Mr Kennedy Henedja (Technical/Vocational) and (SHS); who won the first position (for 2006) , had a double- door refrigerator each.

Those who won the first position (for 2007), were MrSakyi Dwommoh (Primary), Michael Kporti (JHS), Mr Walter Agbley (JHS Mathematics /Science) and Mr Francis Noagbedzi  (French) and they also took home a refrigerator each.

Mr Patrick Ahiabu (Primay), Mr Michael Zowornu (JHS), Mr Alpha Mazim (JHS Mathematics /Science) and Martin Hlodze, who were adjudged best (for 2008), also took home a refrigerator each.

Ms Regina Osei Boateng (Primary), Mr Emmanuel Klu (JHS) and M Johnson Atitsogbe  (SHS) received recognition (for 2009) and no candidate filed for the JHS, Mathematics/Science JHS and French categories.

Those who emerged second and third respectively from the various levels received 21 inch Television sets and table-top refrigerators as prizes.

Source: GNA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.